What does a novelist look like?

Would you know a novelist walking down the street if you saw one, unless it was a famous one? I spent yesterday in scruffy jeans and a billowy (but cool) top. Ideally I’d love to wear pyjamas, and I guess they’d be a good indicator of a novelist: bit eccentric but means well? Or should I wear black polo tops and imposing glasses?

I ask these questions as yesterday someone looked shocked when I said I’d written a novel. Guess I don’t have the novelist’s look, but it was fun convincing her that I had – answering the synopsis and page/word count questions. I could natter about the process of writing all day.

Perhaps there’s another book in there? Not until after TNM is complete, and my “Manual” has begun.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

